Weight loss – diet or exercise?

Diet or exercise?

It’s an age-old question, and one that applies to all situations, not just weddings.

There are a few schools of thought –

1. You can eat whatever you want, as long as you exercise

2. You don’t need to work out, as long as you eat well

3. Do a insane fad diet to lose the weight, then just maintain

An interview from Business Insider with a exercise scientist clarifies an age-old myth. In the long term, it’s about making smart dietary choices, with less emphasis on exercise. While you should still work out to build fat-burning muscle, a greater emphasis needs to be put on intake.

Excerpt below:

“…Thinking practically, keep in mind you’d have to walk 35 miles to burn 3,500 calories. That’s a lot of walking. But if you look at eating, a Snickers bar might have, say, 500 calories. It’s going to be a lot easier to cut the Snickers bar than to do 5 miles of walking every day.” 

Very true – (and now I’m left feeling guilty about the 5 Kit Kats I shoveled in my mouth earlier after rationalizing I had already negated it with my 15 minute stroll around the block).

For myself, I have noticed that when I have a regular exercise schedule and healthy diet with tons of water, I feel so much better. Less sluggish and more clearheaded.

Some easy no brainers for weight maintenance:

1. Drink water. Cut out juices, sodas – you’ll lose an average of 16 lbs a year.  Water also fills you up so you feel less hungry.

2. Walk whenever you can. Everything adds up

3. Eat half portions. You can still reasonably eat what you like, just halve the portion. If you’re at a restaurant, now you have leftovers for your next meal, saving money as well.

It’s all about the no brainers for me – I don’t have a lot of brain bandwidth for change, and these helped me!

Leave a comment